

Pursuant to Statute and Declaration by the Board, the Annual Meeting of The River East Transcona School Division was duly called and held on Tuesday, September 5, 2023, at 6:30 p.m. in the Allen Rouse Room, 589 Roch Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba.

TRUSTEES PRESENT:	B. Bage C. Carswell B. Goertzen S. Hanson	S. Hiebert S. Irwin K. Morrison S. Olynik
ABSENT:	R. Giesbrecht	
ALSO PRESENT:	<ul> <li>S. Herbst, Superintendent/CEO</li> <li>J. Drysdale, Assistant Superintendent Educational Services and Planning</li> <li>K. Boyd, Assistant Superintendent Educational Programming</li> <li>M. Bruce, Assistant Superintendent Human Resources (Instructional)</li> <li>T. Mitchell, Assistant Superintendent, Student Services</li> <li>E. Downey, Secretary-Treasurer/CFO</li> <li>G. Caithness, Recording Secretary</li> </ul>	

Secretary-Treasurer Elise Downey called the meeting to order and, in accordance with Section 29(2) of the Public Schools Act, took the chair to preside at the election of the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board for the 2023/2024 term, and declared the meeting officially open.

#### Treaty Acknowledgment

River East Transcona School Division is located on the original lands of the Anishinaabeg, Ininiwak, Anishininiwak, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Red River Métis. We recognize our part of the Treaty relationship and, as acknowledgement of the harms done, we commit to collaborating with Indigenous communities in the shared spirit of Truth and Reconciliation for the healing and inclusion of all who share this Land.

In accordance with Section 53(5) of the Public Schools Act, the Secretary-Treasurer reported to the Board regarding Occupations of Trust. Elise Downey reported that none exists.

The voting procedures were reviewed and agreed upon.

## **Scrutineers**

Assistant Superintendent M. Bruce and Assistant Superintendent T. Mitchell were appointed as Scrutineers for the ballot counts.

## ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR FOR THE 2023/2024 TERM

Nominations were then declared open for **BOARD CHAIR**.

Trustee Olynik nominated Trustee Carswell.

Following the third call for further nominations, it was declared that nominations close.



# ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR FOR THE 2023/2024 TERM (Continued)

## TRUSTEE CARSWELL was ACCLAIMED as CHAIR OF THE BOARD for the 2023/2024 term.

Nominations were then declared open for **<u>BOARD VICE-CHAIR</u>**.

Trustee Hiebert nominated Trustee Olynik.

Following the third call for further nominations, it was declared that nominations close.

TRUSTEE OLYNIK was ACCLAIMED as VICE-CHAIR OF THE BOARD for the 2023-2024 term.

Elise Downey turned the Chair over to Trustee Carswell for the balance of the meeting.

## BOARD CHAIR C. CARSWELL IN THE CHAIR:

## SETTING OF TIME FOR BOARD MEETINGS

187/23

MOVED by Trustee Morrison, (S) Trustee Hiebert THAT the Board meetings be scheduled for the first and third Tuesday of every month, commencing at 6:30 p.m.

<u>Unanimous</u>

## **ELECTION OF STANDING COMMITTEE CHAIRS FOR THE 2023/2024 TERM**

## Finance, Facilities, Transportation and Technology:

Trustee Morrison nominated Trustee Goertzen.

Following the third call for further nominations, it was declared that nominations close.

# TRUSTEE GOERTZEN was ACCLAIMED as CHAIR OF THE FINANCE, FACILITIES, TRANSPORTATION AND TECHNOLOGY COMMITTEE for the 2023-2024 term.



## ELECTION OF STANDING COMMITTEE CHAIRS FOR THE 2023/2024 TERM (continued)

#### **Program, Policy Review and Personnel:**

Trustee Morrison nominated Trustee Hiebert

Following the third call for further nominations, it was declared that nominations close.

TRUSTEE HIEBERT was ACCLAIMED as CHAIR OF THE PROGRAM, POLICY REVIEW AND PERSONNEL COMMITTEE for the 2023-2024 term.

#### Negotiations:

Trustee Goertzen nominated Trustee Morrison.

Trustee Morrison declined to let his name stand.

Trustee Olynik nominated Trustee Goertzen.

Following the third call for further nominations, it was declared that nominations close.

TRUSTEE GOERTZEN was ACCLAIMED as CHAIR OF THE NEGOTIATIONS COMMITTEE for the 2023-2024 term.

## ELECTION OF STANDING COMMITTEE MEMBERS FOR THE 2023/2024 TERM

## Finance, Facilities, Transportation and Technology:

188/23

MOVED by Trustee Hiebert, (S) Trustee Morrison THAT the Finance, Facilities, Transportation and Technology Standing Committee members for the 2023/2024 term be Trustees Goertzen (Chair), Bage, Irwin and Olynik.

#### <u>Unanimous</u>

#### Program, Policy Review and Personnel:

189/23

MOVED by Trustee Irwin, (S) Trustee Olynik THAT the Program, Policy Review and Personnel Standing Committee members for the 2023/2024 term be Trustees Hiebert (Chair), Bage and Morrison.

<u>Unanimous</u>



### ELECTION OF STANDING COMMITTEE MEMBERS FOR THE 2023/2024 TERM (continued)

#### Negotiations:

190/23

MOVED by Trustee Bage, (S) Trustee Morrison THAT the Negotiations Standing Committee members for the 2023/2024 term be Trustees Goertzen (Chair), Hanson, Hiebert and Irwin.

#### <u>Unanimous</u>

#### SETTING OF TIME FOR STANDING COMMITTEE MEETINGS FOR THE 2023/2024 TERM

191/23

MOVED by Trustee Hiebert, (S) Trustee Irwin THAT the setting of meeting dates and times for the following committees be referred to the first meeting of each committee;

AND FURTHER THAT the first meeting of each committee be at the call of the committee chair:

- a) Finance, Facilities, Transportation and Technology;
- b) Program, Policy Review and Personnel;

AND FURTHER THAT meetings of the Negotiations Committee be called by the chair of that committee as necessary.

#### <u>Unanimous</u>

## SELECTION OF SPECIAL COMMITTEES

#### **Budget Review:**

192/23

MOVED by Trustee Irwin, (S) Trustee Olynik THAT the Budget Review Committee be comprised of the Finance, Facilities, Transportation and Technology Committee Sitting as a Committee of the Whole.

#### <u>Unanimous</u>



## **SELECTION OF SPECIAL COMMITTEES** (continued)

#### **Personal Professional Development Fund:**

193/23

MOVED by Trustee Bage, (S) Trustee Hiebert THAT Trustees Hanson and Olynik be appointed to the Personal Professional Development Fund Committee.

#### <u>Unanimous</u>

#### River East Transcona Teachers' Association (RETTA) Liaison:

194/23

MOVED by Trustee Olynik, (S) Trustee Bage THAT the Board Chair and Trustees Irwin and Morrison be appointed to the River East Transcona Teachers' Association Liaison Committee.

#### <u>Unanimous</u>

#### Motion of Adjournment

195/23

MOVED by Trustee Morrison, (S) Trustee Bage THAT we do now adjourn at 6:52 p.m.

#### <u>Unanimous</u>

Board Chair (Colleen Carswell)

Secretary-Treasurer/CFO (Elise Downey)