



Pursuant to Statute and Declaration by the Board, the Inaugural Meeting of The River East Transcona School Division was duly called and held on Tuesday, November 6, 2018, at 6:40 p.m. in the Allen Rouse Room, 589 Roch Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba.

TRUSTEES PRESENT: C. Carswell S. Olynik

R. Giesbrecht J. Sodomlak
B. Goertzen J. Toews
P. Kotyk M. West

K. Morrison

ALSO PRESENT: K. Barkman, Superintendent/CEO

K. Boyd, Assistant Superintendent, Educational Programming G. Daniels, Assistant Superintendent, Human Resources

J. Drysdale, Assistant Superintendent, Educational Services and

Planning

T. Mitchell, Assistant Superintendent, Student Services

V. Mariani, Secretary-Treasurer/CFO G. Caithness, Recording Secretary

Secretary-Treasurer V. Mariani called the meeting to order and, in accordance with Section 29(2) of the Public Schools Act, took the chair to preside at the election of the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board for the 2018/2019 term, and declared the meeting officially open.

Superintendent K. Barkman gave the invocation.

Mr. Mariani reported on the Affidavit of Qualifications and Oath of Office and Allegiance of Trustees of School Divisions and School Districts, Declaration of Residence, and Statement of Assets and Interests that had been completed by each Trustee. The Oath of Office and allegiance was taken by each Trustee.

In accordance with Section 53(5) of the Public Schools Act, the Secretary-Treasurer reported to the Board regarding Occupations of Trust. Mr. Mariani reported that none exists.

The voting procedures were reviewed and agreed upon.

Scrutineers

Assistant Superintendent K. Boyd and Assistant Superintendent T. Mitchell were appointed as Scrutineers for the ballot counts.

ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR FOR THE 2018/2019 TERM

Nominations were then declared open for **BOARD CHAIR**.

Trustee Goertzen nominated Trustee West.

Trustee Olynik nominated Trustee Carswell.



November 6, 2018 Page 89

ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR AND VICE-CHAIR FOR THE 2018/2019 TERM (Continued)

Following the third call for further nominations, it was

233/18 MOVED by Trustee Sodomlak, (S) Trustee Kotyk THAT

nominations close.

Unanimous

Ballots were distributed.

The Secretary-Treasurer received the report of the Scrutineers and declared that <u>TRUSTEE CARSWELL was</u> elected as CHAIR OF THE BOARD for the 2018/2019 term.

234/18 MOVED by Trustee Goertzen, (S) Trustee Toews THAT the

ballots be destroyed.

<u>Unanimous</u>

Nominations were then declared open for **BOARD VICE-CHAIR**.

Trustee West nominated Trustee Goertzen.
Trustee Carswell nominated Trustee Sodomlak.

Following the third call for further nominations, it was

235/18 MOVED by Trustee Toews, (S) Trustee Giesbrecht THAT

nominations close.

<u>Unanimous</u>

Ballots were distributed.

The Secretary-Treasurer received the report of the Scrutineers and declared that <u>TRUSTEE SODOMLAK</u> was elected as VICE-CHAIR OF THE BOARD for the 2018/2019 term.

Mr. Mariani turned the Chair over to Trustee Carswell for the balance of the meeting.

BOARD CHAIR C. CARSWELL IN THE CHAIR:

Trustee Carswell thanked the Trustees for the confidence they have placed in her.



November 6, 2018 Page 90

SETTING OF TIME FOR BOARD MEETINGS

236/18

MOVED by Trustee Giesbrecht, (S) Trustee Toews THAT the Board meetings be scheduled for the first and third Tuesday of every month, commencing at 6:30 p.m.

Unanimous

ELECTION OF STANDING COMMITTEE CHAIRS FOR THE 2018/2019 TERM

Finance, Facilities and Transportation:

Trustee Sodomlak nominated Trustee West. Trustee West nominated Trustee Goertzen.

Trustee West declined to let his name stand.

TRUSTEE GOERTZEN was acclaimed as CHAIR OF THE FINANCE, FACILITIES AND TRANSPORTATION COMMITTEE for the 2018/2019 term.

Program, Policy Review and Personnel:

Trustee West nominated Trustee Kotyk.

TRUSTEE KOTYK was acclaimed as CHAIR OF THE PROGRAM, POLICY REVIEW AND PERSONNEL COMMITTEE for the 2018/2019 term.

Negotiations:

Trustee Kotyk nominated Trustee Giesbrecht.

TRUSTEE GIESBRECHT was acclaimed as CHAIR OF THE NEGOTIATIONS COMMITTEE for the 2018/2019 term.

ELECTION OF STANDING COMMITTEE MEMBERS FOR THE 2018/2019 TERM

Finance, Facilities and Transportation:

237/18

MOVED by Trustee Goertzen, (S) Trustee Morrison THAT the Finance, Facilities and Transportation Standing Committee members for the 2018/2019 term be Trustees Giesbrecht, Olynik, Toews and Goertzen (Chair).

Unanimous



November 6, 2018 Page 91

ELECTION OF STANDING COMMITTEE MEMBERS FOR THE 2018/2019 TERM (continued)

Program, Policy Review and Personnel:

238/18

MOVED by Trustee Kotyk, (S) Trustee Toews THAT the Program, Policy Review and Personnel Standing Committee members for the 2018/2019 term be Trustees Morrison, Sodomlak, West and Kotyk (Chair).

Unanimous

SETTING OF TIME FOR STANDING COMMITTEE MEETINGS FOR THE 2018/2019 TERM

239/18

MOVED by Trustee Kotyk, (S) Trustee West THAT the setting of meeting dates and times for the following committees be referred to the first meeting of each committee;

- a) Finance, Facilities and Transportation Committee;
- b) Program, Policy Review and Personnel Committee;

AND FURTHER THAT meetings of the Negotiations Committee be called by the chair of that committee as necessary.

Unanimous

SELECTION OF SPECIAL COMMITTEES

Budget Review:

240/18

MOVED by Trustee West, (S) Trustee Olynik THAT the Budget Review Committee be comprised of the Finance, Facilities and Transportation Committee Sitting as a Committee of the Whole.

Unanimous

Personal Professional Development Fund:

241/18

MOVED by Trustee Toews, (S) Trustee Giesbrecht THAT Trustees Kotyk and Sodomlak be appointed to the Personal Professional Development Fund Committee.

Unanimous



November 6, 2018 Page 92

SELECTION OF SPECIAL COMMITTEES (continued)

River East Transcona Teachers Association (RETTA) Liaison: 242/18 MOVED by Trustee Sodomlak, (S) Trustee Olynik THAT the

Board Chair and Trustees Goertzen and Morrison be appointed to the River East Transcona Teachers' Association

Liaison Committee.

<u>Unanimous</u>

Motion	of	Δdio	urnm	ent
I I O CI O I I	<u> </u>	~~!~		<u> </u>

243/18 MOVED by Trustee Morrison, (S) Trustee Olynik THAT we

do now adjourn at 7:25 p.m.

Unanimous

Board Chair (C. Carswell)	
Secretary-Treasurer/CFO (V. Mariani)	