

Pursuant to Statute and Declaration by the Board, the Annual Meeting of The River East Transcona School Division was duly called and held on Tuesday, September1, 2020, at 6:30 p.m. in Polson MiniGym, 401 Munroe Avenue, Winnipeg, Manitoba.

TRUSTEES PRESENT:	C. Carswell R. Giesbrecht B. Goertzen P. Kotyk	K. Morrison S. Olynik J. Sodomlak
VIA TELECONFERENCE:	J. Toews M. West	
ALSO PRESENT:	 K. Barkman, Superintendent/CEO J. Drysdale, Assistant Superintendent Educational Services and Planning K. Boyd, Assistant Superintendent Educational Programming M. Bruce, Assistant Superintendent Human Resources (Instructional) T. Mitchell, Assistant Superintendent, Student Services E. Downey, Secretary-Treasurer/CFO G. Caithness, Recording Secretary 	

Secretary-Treasurer E. Downey called the meeting to order and, in accordance with Section 29(2) of the Public Schools Act, took the chair to preside at the election of the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board for the 2020/2021 term, and declared the meeting officially open.

Superintendent K. Barkman read the Land Acknowledgement.

In accordance with Section 53(5) of the Public Schools Act, the Secretary-Treasurer reported to the Board regarding Occupations of Trust. E. Downey reported that none exists.

The voting procedures were reviewed and agreed upon.

Scrutineers

Assistant Superintendent J. Drysdale and Assistant Superintendent K. Boyd were appointed as Scrutineers for the ballot counts.

ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR FOR THE 2020/2021 TERM

Nominations were then declared open for **BOARD CHAIR**.

Trustee Carswell nominated Trustee Sodomlak.

Following the third call for further nominations, it was declared that nominations close.



ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR FOR THE 2020/2021 TERM (Continued)

TRUSTEE SODOMLAK was ACCLAIMED as CHAIR OF THE BOARD for the 2020/2021 term.

Nominations were then declared open for **<u>BOARD VICE-CHAIR</u>**.

Trustee Olynik nominated Trustee Morrison. Trustee Kotyk nominated Trustee Giesbrecht. Trustee Goertzen nominated Trustee Carswell.

Following the third call for further nominations, it was declared that nominations close.

Trustee Carswell declined to let her name stand.

Ballots were distributed. (Trustees Toews and West voted by Proxy.)

The Secretary-Treasurer received the report of the Scrutineers and declared that <u>TRUSTEE MORRISON</u> was elected as VICE-CHAIR OF THE BOARD for the 2020-2021 term.

E. Downey turned the Chair over to Trustee Sodomlak for the balance of the meeting.

BOARD CHAIR J. SODOMLAK IN THE CHAIR:

SETTING OF TIME FOR BOARD MEETINGS

164/20

MOVED by Trustee Morrison, (S) Trustee Olynik THAT the Board meetings be scheduled for the first and third Tuesday of every month, commencing at 6:30 p.m.

<u>Unanimous</u>

ELECTION OF STANDING COMMITTEE CHAIRS FOR THE 2020/2021 TERM

Finance, Facilities and Transportation:

Trustee Olynik nominated Trustee Goertzen. Trustee Giesbrecht nominated Trustee Toews.

Following the third call for further nominations, it was declared that nominations close.

Trustee Toews declined to let his name stand.

165/20

MOVED by Trustee Olynik, (S) Trustee Morrison THAT Trustee Goertzen be appointed Chair of the Finance, Facilities and Transportation Committee for the 2020/2021 term.



ELECTION OF STANDING COMMITTEE CHAIRS FOR THE 2020/2021 TERM (continued)

In Favor Carswell Giesbrecht Goertzen Kotyk Morrison Olynik Sodomlak Toews Opposed West

Carried

Program, Policy Review and Personnel:

Trustee Carswell nominated Trustee Olynik

Following the third call for further nominations, it was declared that nominations close.

166/20

MOVED by Trustee Toews, (S) Trustee Goertzen THAT Trustee Olynik be appointed Chair of the Program, Policy Review and Personnel Committee for the 2020/2021 term.

In Favor Carswell Giesbrecht Goertzen Kotyk Morrison Olynik Sodomlak Toews

Opposed

West

Carried

Negotiations:

Trustee Carswell nominated Trustee Giesbrecht.

Following the third call for further nominations, it was declared that nominations close.

167/20

MOVED by Trustee Olynik, (S) Trustee Morrison that Trustee Giesbrecht be appointed Chair of the Negotiations Committee for the 2020/2021 term.

<u>Unanimous</u>



ELECTION OF STANDING COMMITTEE MEMBERS FOR THE 2020/2021 TERM

Finance, Facilities and Transportation:

168/20

MOVED by Trustee Giesbrecht, (S) Trustee Morrison THAT the Finance, Facilities and Transportation Standing Committee members for the 2020/2021 term be Trustees Goertzen (Chair), Carswell, Morrison and Toews.

<u>Unanimous</u>

Program, Policy Review and Personnel:

169/20

MOVED by Trustee Goertzen, (S) Trustee Olynik THAT the Program, Policy Review and Personnel Standing Committee members for the 2020/2021 term be Trustees Olynik (Chair), Giesbrecht, Kotyk and West.

<u>Unanimous</u>

Negotiations:

170/20

MOVED by Trustee Carswell, (S) Trustee Morrison THAT the Negotiations Standing Committee members for the 2020/2021 term be Trustees Giesbrecht (Chair), Goertzen and Olynik.

<u>Unanimous</u>

DESTRUCTION OF BALLOTS

171/20

MOVED by Trustee Giesbrecht, (S) Trustee Goertzen that the ballots be destroyed.

<u>Unanimous</u>

SETTING OF TIME FOR STANDING COMMITTEE MEETINGS FOR THE 2020/2021 TERM

172/20

MOVED by Trustee Morrison, (S) Trustee Goertzen THAT the setting of meeting dates and times for the following committees be referred to the first meeting of each committee;

AND FURTHER THAT the first meeting of each committee be at the call of the committee chair:



SETTING OF TIME FOR STANDING COMMITTEE MEETINGS FOR THE 2020/2021 TERM

- a) Finance, Facilities and Transportation;
- b) Program, Policy Review and Personnel;

AND FURTHER THAT meetings of the Negotiations Committee be called by the chair of that committee as necessary.

<u>Unanimous</u>

SELECTION OF SPECIAL COMMITTEES

Budget Review:

173/20

MOVED by Trustee Goertzen, (S) Trustee Giesbrecht THAT the Budget Review Committee be comprised of the Finance Committee Sitting as a Committee of the Whole.

<u>Unanimous</u>

Personal Professional Development Fund:

174/20

MOVED by Trustee Olynik, (S) Trustee Goertzen THAT Trustees Giesbrecht and Kotyk be appointed to the Personal Professional Development Fund Committee.

<u>Unanimous</u>

River East Transcona Teachers' Association (RETTA) Liaison:

175/20

MOVED by Trustee Toews, (S) Trustee Giesbrecht THAT the Board Chair and Trustees Carswell and Morrison be appointed to the River East Transcona Teachers' Association Liaison Committee.

<u>Unanimous</u>



Motion of Adjournment

176/20

MOVED by Trustee Goertzen, (S) Trustee Kotyk THAT we do now adjourn at 7:15 p.m.

<u>Unanimous</u>

Board Chair (Jerry Sodomlak)

Secretary-Treasurer/CFO (Elise Downey)