

Pursuant to Statute and Declaration by the Board, the Annual Meeting of The River East Transcona School Division was duly called and held on Tuesday, September 3, 2019, at 6:30 p.m. in the Allen Rouse Room, 589 Roch Street, Winnipeg, Manitoba.

TRUSTEES PRESENT:

C. Carswell R. Giesbrecht B. Goertzen P. Kotyk K. Morrison S. Olynik J. Sodomlak J. Toews M. West

ALSO PRESENT:

K. Barkman, Superintendent/CEO

J. Drysdale, Assistant Superintendent Educational Services and Planning

- K. Boyd, Assistant Superintendent Educational Programming
- M. Bruce, Assistant Superintendent Human Resources (Instructional)
- T. Mitchell, Assistant Superintendent, Student Services
- V. Mariani, Secretary-Treasurer/CFO
- E. Downey, Assistant Secretary-Treasurer
- G. Caithness, Recording Secretary

Secretary-Treasurer V. Mariani called the meeting to order and, in accordance with Section 29(2) of the Public Schools Act, took the chair to preside at the election of the Chair and Vice-Chair of the Board for the 2019/2020 term, and declared the meeting officially open.

Superintendent K. Barkman gave the invocation.

In accordance with Section 53(5) of the Public Schools Act, the Secretary-Treasurer reported to the Board regarding Occupations of Trust. Mr. Mariani reported that none exists.

The voting procedures were reviewed and agreed upon.

Scrutineers

Assistant Superintendent J. Drysdale and Assistant Superintendent T. Mitchell were appointed as Scrutineers for the ballot counts.

ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR FOR THE 2019/2020 TERM

Nominations were then declared open for **BOARD CHAIR**.

Trustee Olynik nominated Trustee Carswell.

Following the third call for further nominations, it was

182/19

MOVED by Trustee Morrison, (S) Trustee Goertzen THAT nominations close.



ELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR FOR THE 2019/2020 TERM (Continued)

TRUSTEE CARSWELL was ACCLAIMED as CHAIR OF THE BOARD for the 2019/2020 term.

Nominations were then declared open for **<u>BOARD VICE-CHAIR</u>**.

Trustee Olynik nominated Trustee Sodomlak.

Following the third call for further nominations, it was

183/19

MOVED by Trustee Toews, (S) Trustee Morrison THAT nominations close.

<u>Unanimous</u>

TRUSTEE SODOMLAK was ACCLAIMED as VICE-CHAIR OF THE BOARD for the 2019/2020 term.

Mr. Mariani turned the Chair over to Trustee Carswell for the balance of the meeting.

BOARD CHAIR C. CARSWELL IN THE CHAIR:

SETTING OF TIME FOR BOARD MEETINGS

184/19

MOVED by Trustee Goertzen, (S) Trustee Morrison THAT the Board meetings be scheduled for the first and third Tuesday of every month, commencing at 6:30 p.m.

<u>Unanimous</u>

ELECTION OF STANDING COMMITTEE CHAIRS FOR THE 2019/2020 TERM

Finance, Facilities and Transportation:

185/19

MOVED by Trustee Morrison, (S) Trustee Sodomlak THAT Trustee Giesbrecht be appointed Chair of the Finance, Facilities and Transportation Committee for the 2019/2020 term.



ELECTION OF STANDING COMMITTEE CHAIRS FOR THE 2019/2020 TERM (continued)

Program, Policy Review and Personnel:

Trustee Sodomlak nominated Trustee Morrison.

Following the third call for further nominations, it was

186/19

MOVED by Trustee Toews, (S) Trustee Goertzen THAT nominations close.

<u>Unanimous</u>

TRUSTEE MORRISON was ACCLAIMED as CHAIR OF THE PROGRAM, POLICY REVIEW AND PERSONNEL COMMITTEE for the 2019/2020 term.

Negotiations:

Trustee Olynik nominated Trustee Goertzen.

Following the third call for further nominations, it was:

187/19

MOVED by Trustee Giesbrecht, (S) Trustee Morrison that nominations close.

<u>Unanimous</u>

TRUSTEE GOERTZEN was ACCLAIMED as CHAIR OF THE NEGOTIATIONS COMMITTEE for the 2019/2020 term.

ELECTION OF STANDING COMMITTEE MEMBERS FOR THE 2019/2020 TERM

Finance, Facilities and Transportation:

188/19

MOVED by Trustee Sodomlak, (S) Trustee Morrison THAT the Finance, Facilities and Transportation Standing Committee members for the 2019/2020 term be Trustees Giesbrecht (Chair), Kotyk, Goertzen and Toews.



ELECTION OF STANDING COMMITTEE MEMBERS FOR THE 2019/2020 TERM (continued)

Program, Policy Review and Personnel:

189/19

MOVED by Trustee Goertzen, (S) Trustee Giesbrecht THAT the Program, Policy Review and Personnel Standing Committee members for the 2019/2020 term be Trustees Morrison (Chair), Olynik, West and Sodomlak.

<u>Unanimous</u>

Negotiations:

190/19

MOVED by Trustee Morrison, (S) Trustee Sodomlak THAT the Negotiations Standing Committee members for the 2019/2020 term be Trustees Goertzen (Chair), Giesbrecht, Toews and Olynik.

<u>Unanimous</u>

SETTING OF TIME FOR STANDING COMMITTEE MEETINGS FOR THE 2019/2020 TERM

191/19

MOVED by Trustee Giesbrecht, (S) Trustee Olynik THAT the setting of meeting dates and times for the following committees be referred to the first meeting of each committee;

AND FURTHER THAT the first meeting of each committee be at the call of the committee chair:

- a) Finance, Facilities and Transportation;
- b) Program, Policy Review and Personnel;

AND FURTHER THAT meetings of the Negotiations Committee be called by the chair of that committee as necessary.

Unanimous

SELECTION OF SPECIAL COMMITTEES

Budget Review:

192/19

MOVED by Trustee Goertzen, (S) Trustee Olynik THAT the Budget Review Committee be comprised of the Finance Committee Sitting as a Committee of the Whole.



SELECTION OF SPECIAL COMMITTEES (continued)

Personal Professional Development Fund:

193/19

MOVED by Trustee Kotyk, (S) Trustee Goertzen THAT Trustees Giesbrecht and Sodomlak be appointed to the Personal Professional Development Fund Committee.

<u>Unanimous</u>

River East Transcona Teachers' Association (RETTA) Liaison:

194/19

MOVED by Trustee Sodomlak, (S) Trustee Olynik THAT the Board Chair and Trustees Goertzen and Kotyk be appointed to the River East Transcona Teachers' Association Liaison Committee.

<u>Unanimous</u>

Motion of Adjournment

195/19

MOVED by Trustee Kotyk, (S) Trustee Goertzen THAT we do now adjourn at 6:52 p.m.

<u>Unanimous</u>

Board Chair (Colleen Carswell)

Secretary-Treasurer/CFO (Vince Mariani)