

A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE BOARD of River East Transcona School Division was duly called and held on Monday, March 11, 2024 at 6:00 p.m., in the Allen Rouse Room, 589 Roch Street, Winnipeg, MB.

- TRUSTEES PRESENT B. Bage C. Carswell
 - B. Goertzen
 - R. Giesbrecht
 - S. Hanson

- S. Hiebert S. Irwin
- K. Morrison
- S. Olynik
- **ABSENT:**K. Boyd, Assistant Superintendent, Educational Programming
T. Mitchell, Assistant Superintendent, Student Services
- ALSO PRESENT: S. Herbst, Superintendent/CEO E. Downey, Secretary-Treasurer/CFO
 - M. Bruce, Assistant Superintendent, Human Resources
 - J. Drysdale, Assistant Superintendent, Educational Services and Planning
 - Z. Van Rooyen, Assistant Secretary-Treasurer

SCHOOL BOARD CHAIR C. CARSWELL IN THE CHAIR:

Treaty Acknowledgement – Trustee Carswell

River East Transcona School Division is located on the original lands of the Anishinaabeg, Ininiwak, Anishininiwak, Dakota, and Dene peoples, and on the homeland of the Red River Métis. We recognize our part of the Treaty relationship and, as acknowledgement of the harms done, we commit to collaborating with Indigenous communities in the shared spirit of Truth and Reconciliation for the healing and inclusion of all who share this Land.

Adoption of Agenda

59/24

MOVED by Trustee Morrison, (S) Trustee Hiebert THAT the Agenda dated March 11, 2024, be adopted as amended.

<u>Unanimous</u>

Reports for Action

2024 – 2025 Operating and Capital Budget

60/24

MOVED by Trustee Goertzen, (S) Trustee Olynik THAT the 2024 – 2025 Operating and Capital Budget for River East Transcona School Division in the amount of \$251,146,495 be approved;

AND FURTHER that the 2024 Tax Requirement for River East Transcona School Division be set at \$118,845,083.

Carried



Reports for Action (continued)

In Favor Bage Carswell Goertzen Hanson

Hiebert Irwin Morrison Olynik **Opposed** R. Giesbrecht

Trustee Olynik left at 6:07 p.m.

Trustee Olynik returns at 6:09 p.m.

Motion to Adjourn

61/24

MOVED by Trustee Morrison, (S) Trustee Irwin THAT we do now adjourn at 6:10 p.m.

<u>Unanimous</u>

Board Chair (Colleen Carswell)

Secretary-Treasurer (Elise Downey)